A dog & canine forum. DogBanter

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Go Back   Home » DogBanter forum » Dog forums » Dog behavior
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Izzy's heartworm treatment



 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 11th 09, 03:43 PM posted to rec.pets.dogs.behavior
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 3
Default Izzy's heartworm treatment

Hello Everyone,

In December I rescued a St. Bernard. She was found skinny &
malnourished living in a junkyard. The owners of the junkyard found
her sleeping in a pile of tires there. They fed her and got her weight
back on her. Three months later they figured that she was ready to
find her forever home. I was contacted about her and fell in love with
her at first sight. I took her home & named her Isabella (Izzy). It
seemed to suit her because of her natural beauty and her grace. She
has made major improvements since she has been with our family, but
when we got her she came to us with heartworms. We recently got her
tested for heartworms and her test came back positive. She has been on
heartworm preventative since she has been with me, so I know that she
did not contract this while she was in my care. I am asking anyone
that can donate to please help us out with the cost of her treatment.
The cost of the treatment is $423.77. She will be treated at Millcreek
Animal Hospital in Lexington, SC once we have raised the money to do
so. Their phone number is 803-359-1933, if you need to you can call
there and talk to them about her. Thank you & God bless you!

The fundraising page is:
https://www.fundable.com/groupaction...-11.2603539913


Thank you.

Christina Lauren

  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 11th 09, 03:49 PM posted to rec.pets.dogs.behavior
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,732
Default Izzy's heartworm treatment

In article ,
wrote:
Hello Everyone,


Out of curiosity, why does your IP address resolve to a
Chinese ISP? That's kind of a long way from Charleston.
--
Melinda Shore - Software longa, hardware brevis -

Prouder than ever to be a member of the reality-based community
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 11th 09, 05:25 PM posted to rec.pets.dogs.behavior
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 81
Default Izzy's heartworm treatment


"Melinda Shore" wrote in message
...
In article
,
wrote:
Hello Everyone,


Out of curiosity, why does your IP address resolve to a
Chinese ISP? That's kind of a long way from Charleston.
--


Interesting. This same "fundable" organization has been spamming the cat
groups with requests for donations for a group of cats abandoned in a
Northridge, CA home. I'm not savvy enough to determine the ISP origin.
Melinda Shore - Software longa, hardware brevis -

Prouder than ever to be a member of the reality-based community



  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 11th 09, 05:32 PM posted to rec.pets.dogs.behavior
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 7,732
Default Izzy's heartworm treatment

In article ,
Wingnut wrote:
Interesting. This same "fundable" organization has been spamming the cat
groups with requests for donations for a group of cats abandoned in a
Northridge, CA home. I'm not savvy enough to determine the ISP origin.


I'm a nerd and like to read headers, and every fundable.com-
based solicitation I've looked at has been fraudulent.
Sometimes the clues are in the headers but sometimes you can
do a little simple poking and discover a problem. For
example, a few months ago someone posted a solicitation from
an IP address that really didn't suggest there might be a
problem, but going to the website of the rescue group
referenced in the solicitation showed that the miscreant who
posted it copied a more-than-two-year-old solicitation *on*
the rescue group website. The dog himself had fully
recovered and been placed in a permanent home. I kind of
hate to say this (I know there are an awful lot of people
and animals in need, particularly these days) but I would
tend to assume anything using fundable.com as a collection
resource is a fraud.
--
Melinda Shore - Software longa, hardware brevis -

Prouder than ever to be a member of the reality-based community
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 11th 09, 06:37 PM posted to rec.pets.dogs.behavior
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 4
Default Izzy's heartworm treatment

On Mar 11, 10:43*am, wrote:
Hello Everyone,

In December I rescued a St. Bernard. She was found skinny &
malnourished living in a junkyard. The owners of the junkyard found
her sleeping in a pile of tires there. They fed her and got her weight
back on her. Three months later they figured that she was ready to
find her forever home. I was contacted about her and fell in love with
her at first sight. I took her home & named her Isabella (Izzy). It
seemed to suit her because of her natural beauty and her grace. She
has made major improvements since she has been with our family, but
when we got her she came to us with heartworms. We recently got her
tested for heartworms and her test came back positive. She has been on
heartworm preventative since she has been with me, so I know that she
did not contract this while she was in my care. I am asking anyone
that can donate to please help us out with the cost of her treatment.
The cost of the treatment is $423.77. She will be treated at Millcreek
Animal Hospital in Lexington, SC once we have raised the money to do
so. Their phone number is 803-359-1933, if you need to you can call
there and talk to them about her. Thank you & God bless you!

The fundraising page is:https://www.fundable.com/groupaction...-11.2603539913

Thank you.

Christina Lauren


  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 11th 09, 08:00 PM posted to rec.pets.dogs.behavior
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 1,654
Default Izzy's heartworm treatment


"Melinda Shore" wrote in message
...
In article ,
Wingnut wrote:
Interesting. This same "fundable" organization has been spamming the cat
groups with requests for donations for a group of cats abandoned in a
Northridge, CA home. I'm not savvy enough to determine the ISP origin.


I'm a nerd and like to read headers, and every fundable.com-
based solicitation I've looked at has been fraudulent.
Sometimes the clues are in the headers but sometimes you can
do a little simple poking and discover a problem. For
example, a few months ago someone posted a solicitation from
an IP address that really didn't suggest there might be a
problem, but going to the website of the rescue group
referenced in the solicitation showed that the miscreant who
posted it copied a more-than-two-year-old solicitation *on*
the rescue group website. The dog himself had fully
recovered and been placed in a permanent home. I kind of
hate to say this (I know there are an awful lot of people
and animals in need, particularly these days) but I would
tend to assume anything using fundable.com as a collection
resource is a fraud.


What do you use to trace an IP address? My search came up with lots of
sites, but many of them are very likely carriers of malware and spyware.

Paul and Muttley


 




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Izzy's heartworm treatment fh.julie.titus@gmail.com Dog health 5 March 18th 09 07:14 PM
Izzy's heartworm treatment fh.julie.titus@gmail.com Dog breeds 1 March 11th 09 03:54 PM
Buddies Heartworm Treatment Shadow Walker Dogs - general 0 February 16th 07 06:56 AM
Fwd: New Heartworm Treatment Information MikeEisenfeld@webtv.net Dog behavior 0 June 15th 06 02:55 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0
Copyright ©2004-2012 DogBanter.
The comments are property of their posters.